AC light dimming with the arduino

Hello,

I tried to dim a light with the arduino, but it didnt work. I'm quite new to the arduino, so i just tried to build the project.
I used this instructable: http://www.instructables.com/id/Arduino-controlled-light-dimmer-The-circuit/?ALLSTEPS
I used the components used in this instructable, and i also used the schematic you can see in the attachments. For the code i used the one in the instructable.

In the attachment you can also see my breadboard, i know it isn't that clear, but i just took a picture because maybe it could help. The mains aren't connected on the picture tho.
When i plug in the mains, the lamp just stays off.
Can someone help me troubleshooting? I hope i explained it well!

Thanks in advance

ac_dimmer_220V_circuit.png

maybe buy a wall dimmer and move it with a servo?

Hi

STOP!!!!!

You have 220Vac on the protoboard, I don't think they are rated for that voltage.

Tom...... :slight_smile:

A couple of things you can check...

Disconnect the resistor connected to the MOC020 opto-isolator from the Arduino's I/O pin. Leave the ground. Connect that resistor to +5V. That should turn-on the opto-isolator and the TRIAC, and the light should come on. If it doesn't come on, you've got a problem in that part of the circuit.

Write a little sketch to read Arduino pin 2, and send that pin's status to the serial monitor. You should see that state changing between zero and one if the zero-crossing detector is working.

It is totally unsafe to use a breadboard with mains voltages.

How many times have you seen a wire get accidentally pulled out of a breadboard, and touch something it shouldn't?

Hi,
C
an you repost the picture of your project and identify pin1 on each of the IC's please,

I don't think I can see a link from pin 2 of the arduino to pin 5 of the 4N25.
Also TIC106 is an SCR not a TRIAC.

Tom.... :slight_smile:

Hi,