8 relay module seems dead

Hi I am new to this and trying to build a pedal switcher for my guitar pedals. I have followed the instructables guidance which was very good, but the relay I received does not seem to be switching on or off.

I have tried powering the relay from a power adaptor (5v 2A) without any luck.

I just watched a youtube video where someone was testing his relay module. The lights work on his one, but when I copy the exact same code he used, my relay does not show any lights at all. Does that mean it is dead?

Regards

kaborex

(deleted)

I would presume you have given the relays thier very own power as it is highly doubtful the Arduino can supply the amount of current required for 8 relays.

And if you did supply them with thier own power I would assume you also included a common ground back to the Arduino.

This is the relay board I purchased

and this is the mega I also purchased

https://www.amazon.co.uk/s/ref=nb_sb_noss?url=search-alias%3Daps&field-keywords=eloogoo+mega

I have also sent a ground back to the mega controller and still nothing. During testing just now with a multi meter, i accidentally shorted the ground on the relay board to IN1 and the rtelay came on on that IN1 Channel.

I tried shorting other channels ie IN2, IN£ etc .. and they all came on.

However, running this short code nothing happens. You can see the mega controller load up but nothing happens:

int relayPin1 = 40

void setup() {
pinMode(relayPin, OUTPUT);

}
void loop() {
digitalWrite(relayPin, LOW);

delay(500);

}

Help please. I am now not sure if the relay board is faulty or not? It clearly works when ground is shorted to any of the channels. I also tested with a multimeter and the mega is indeed sending 5v to the relay board.

Hi just an update.

When I run the code on the software installed directly to my PC version 1.8.5 everything works. So the relay board is fine and everything works.