800l error “sim not inserted”

I am so new I still smell of fresh paint but I’m about to tear my face off in frustration Please any help would be appreciated:

All was going well with my 800L attached to my Uno but when I try and test the connection I get an error saying SIM not inserted??

Like I say, I’m very new to all this so please be kind. Thanks in advance.

If You attach a wiring diagram and code You might get good help. Wild guesses, from helpers, will only make You frustrated or overloaded.

and... of course, is your SIM the correct type and voltage for the modem.

Thanks for the support guys: Arduino Uno attached to PC and 9v battery The RHOS 800L has a flashing light every second SIM TXD to Pin 10 SIM RXD to Pin11

Just using the software serial example code but have adjusted the baud rate to 9600 sent AT command and got OK response I may need to look at my code some more. I may have possibly suffered new starter syndrome and bitten off more than I can chew as a first project.

What’s powering the modem? and verify the modem and uno are talking at the same speed...

Modem is powered by 9v battery and as far as I can tell they are both at 9600 baud

nowhere near enough juice in a 9v PP3 battery if that’s what you mean. How are deriving the 5V needed to the modem, again, not through the Arduino 5v regulator. The modem needs a good strong 5v @2A independent of the processor.

This is the code and the error on the serial monitor

This is the wiring and the battery I’m using. The modem has power light on and a steady blinking led also (about once every second)

Images won’t upload. Sorry folks

Let’s try uploading this image again...

I think you misunderstand the error message. It is referring to a SIM card which is inserted into the SIM800 module.

What phone network is the SIM800L module going to send to and receive from?

It’s a UK 02 sim