Adding a limit switch to stop a pwm motor code.

I am struggling writing code for the Arduino, since I am a newbie. :roll_eyes:

With that said what I am trying to do is to turn on the arduino remotely and it will run the code ramping up the motor traveling a such distance, so far done. But now adding a limit switch that will stop the motor/code and then have the PWM code stopped to no throttle or brake mode for the ESC Motor controller so the motor controller will do the braking. In this code I am trying to modify I don’t need the reverse code or it to loop, just forward if that helps. So maybe an end if statment if limit switch is reached?

int servoPin = 7;
int fullCounter = 1200; // 1.2ms
int stopped = 1500; // 1.5ms
int fullClock = 1800; // 1.8ms
int dirInt = 1500; //stopped to start
int dir = 1; //add 1 ms per loop untill hitting 1800, then -1 until 1200
void setup()
{
pinMode(servoPin,OUTPUT);
}
void loop()
{
digitalWrite(servoPin,HIGH);
delayMicroseconds(dirInt);
digitalWrite(servoPin,LOW);
delay(20); // 20ms
dirInt += dir;
if(dirInt >= fullClock)
{
dir = -1;
} else if(dirInt <= fullCounter) {
dir = 1;
}
}

Do you have a really good reason not to use the servo library?

Perhaps trigger an interrupt using the limit switch?

You don't need an interrupt.

I know you don't, but if it's a complicated bit of code that runs while the motor is being driven then an interrupt would allow you to easily come to a safe, triggered stop when necessary without worrying about your loop having to constantly check the latch.