ADVICE ON SETTING UP ARDUINO TO CONTROL 20 SOLENOID VALVES

Hi All,

I need to know what arduino product i should use and if this idea is workable. I am new to Arduino. My project is to control our farm irrigation with Arduino using the internet. Our irrigation pump has pump start with 20 solenoids for each different fruit block. Previously there were manual valves in the farm that we had to turn on manually in the paddock. As i am getting smarter i wish to automate everything. I have brought all the 24volt solenoids into the pump shed by changing valves from manual to hydraulic valves and connecting them with hydraulic tubing. This way i no longer have to go out into the farm to change valves only to the pump shed where all the solenoids are now.

I need to know if i can do this with Arduino? There will be upto 4 solenoids going at the same time. If so what Arduino products what i need to do this.

Thanks in advance.

How is a solenoid valve turned on ?

IT NOT HARD AND THEY ARE NOT SO LOUD THAT YOU HAVE TO SHOUT.

you will need to have a relay for each solenoid.
a power supply that is designed to operate the solenoid
a power supply that can power the relays . (relays are often 5 volt or 12 volt)

you do not say how you want to know when to turn on on.
if you need to have a clock, then you need to add that to the list.

you could start by getting one relay for every solenoid and then turn on one switch and from that point the program you write could run each solenoid for 5 minutes, turn it off, then turn on the next, and so on for each solenoid.

you could have sensors or timers or switches.

the Arduino UNO has 20 available I/O pins, that means you have some choices.
one is to get 2 Arduino boards and split the load.
get one arduino and shift register, that uses 4 pins but can control all your solenoids.

to help you, we need to know how you want to decide when to turn them on.
to know if you will ever have two on at the same times always (can share one relay)