Using Arduino to control 12 solenoid valves

Hi all! I'm an environmental engineer and i'm building a particulate sampler machine for a project. This machine has 12 inputs, and 12 solenoid valves (one per channel) that allow air to flow in only one channel at a time. I'm an arduino (and electronic in general) newbie, but my idea was to control these normally closed 12V solenoid valves with arduino. I've found a lot of tutorials on how to control 1 valve (using a transistor, etc), but what about 12 of them? Do I need a relay?

Please help! And thank you all :confused:

Before posting answers here, please check this poster's similar thread in the Italian section.

12 valves require 12 circuits. Why would a relay be involved for 12 but not for 1?

MarkT: 12 valves require 12 circuits. Why would a relay be involved for 12 but not for 1?

well, I absolutely don't know

You need to specify the wattage or amperage of the solendoids and also it its 12v DC or AC.

That will determine whats needed to drive them; 12 Transitors, Mosfets or Relays etc.

Do you want to buy a ready made driver board, or build your own ?

Also you are also talking about 24 inputs and outputs, not to mention any display etc. so that means you will probably have to use the Mega board.

A smaller board like the Uno could be used but would need extra things like port expanders.

As you can see you need to give more thought / detail to your design needs.

NewMasterG: well, I absolutely don't know

You have a working solenoid driver. You want 11 more. Its that simple. Yes you might need a bigger power supply to power them all, but you don't suddenly need something different. If you bought 12 footballs you wouldn't also need a tennis racket either!!

ricky101: You need to specify the wattage or amperage of the solendoids and also it its 12v DC or AC.

That will determine whats needed to drive them; 12 Transitors, Mosfets or Relays etc.

Do you want to buy a ready made driver board, or build your own ?