Alarm with multiple triggers, buzzer and LEDs. Feasible?

Hi all!

My first post on this forum and a complete noob (from Sweden non the less), so please be gentle with me. :blush:

I had the ambition to start learning Arduino about a year ago but things got in the way. Now I really want to get going so I'm starting to think about fun projects.

One of these projects is monitoring system for my inboard boat engine. I'm writing this post looking for a "go-no go" from the collective knowledge of the forum. If I get a "Go" I will try to do my own research to solve the programming but if I get a "No-go" it will save me the hassle.

OK, so here is what I'd like to do with the Arduino:

The engine have three sensors:

1. Oil pressure
  2. Water temperature
  3. Cooling water flow

All these are switches. NO/NC as follows:

1. NC
  2. NO
  3. NC

When the ignition is turned on with engine not running the oil pressure and water flow is both 0 and the temperature is not over the limit. In this configuration I'd like a buzzer to sound and LEDs indicating oil pressure and water flow failure. The LED indicating temperature should be off.

As soon as the engine is started, and oil pressure and water flow is normal the buzzer and LEDs should be off.

During normal operation all switches are in open mode. If a problem occurs with one (or more) of the three parts the switch(es) closes and the buzzer and corresponding LED should activate.

I realise that the engine electrical system is 12V and that the Arduino uses 5V. I will adress that issue later if you guys think that the programming is possible. Just imagine that the engine electrical system is 5V for now. :slight_smile:

Thankful for all input and suggestions.

Best regards
/Fred

I can see no problem with this project. The Arduino on-board voltage regulator can connect to 12V, and the switches to Gnd and an input pin and pullup resistor to 5V.