Analog Input Problem

I'm a newbie, so bear with me.
I used an LDR with Arduino Uno on the 1.6 IDE to determine the value of the analog input the LDR gives back. I made a standard circuit with one pin of the LDR connected to 5V and the other pin connected to Ground and A0 (Analog Input) on the Arduino . However, on the Serial Monitor, I am constantly getting a reading of 0.
Can anyone help me with that please ?

A direct short to ground beats an LDR every time.
Try a voltage divider (good search term there) instead.

Thanks for the reply AWOL.
However, how will the usage of a voltage divider solve the problem ? And if you are not busy, do you have a schematic for that particular case ?

However, how will the usage of a voltage divider solve the problem ?

I don't know what the problem is, but I also don't know what your idea of "a standard circuit" is.

I gave you the search term, it's a very simple circuit (probably only one more component than you already have), so why don't you try it?

Hey, look, you connect the LDR from A0 to ground. No other connection.

Use pinMode(A0 , INPUT_PULLUP) to switch on the pull-up.

Now read the analog input.

Hey AWOL !
I can't understand your point. This is the schematic I am currently using . Please omit the 10k resistor, I used a standard random value resistor in its place.

That's not what you described in your original post.
Why didn't you post that earlier?

I used a standard random value resistor

Oh, that's OK then.
Just as long as it's standard random, and not just any old random.

Hey Paul_B !
Is it necessary to define the LDR as a pullup resistor ? Can't I just read the values directly if I want to, using your idea ?

Hey AWOL !
I'm sorry for using this useless jargon ("standard"). What do you think is the problem ? In layman's terms please. :slight_smile:

adeelshams:
Is it necessary to define the LDR as a pullup resistor? Can't I just read the values directly if I want to, using your idea?