Analog multiplexer values affected by IC connected to power rail

Hi,

I'm fairly new to programming and very new to electronics. This is also my first post so I apologize if it is unclear.

I'm using a 4067 multiplexer with 4 100k pots connected to 4 of the inputs with the intention of connecting 12 more to use with an IC, the SN76489. The values read in the monitor properly from 0 to 1023 with just the multiplexer set up, but when I connect the power and ground of the SN76489 to the 5V and ground rails on the breadboard (from the 5V and GND pins on the Arduino UNO), the values go up to about 910. When I connect an additional IC (74HC595) the values are a little lower.

I have a 10k resistor from each input pin of of the 4067 to the ground rail, which I'm not sure is helping or not, it was an idea from some posts I've read on these forums. I'm sure there is some fundamental electronics/coding knowledge I am missing which may help (I will be taking more than just intro classes soon) so thought I'd ask if anyone has any ideas. Here is my code to read the multiplexer values:

// setting pins for multiplexer 1
const int mux1A = 8;    // A select pin on 4067
const int mux1B = 9;    // B select pin on 4067
const int mux1C = 10;   // C select pin on 4067
const int mux1D = 11;   // D select pin on 4067
const int muxInhibit = 12; // inhibit pin on 4067, kept low to deactivate
double muxValue[16] = {0}; // array to store mux values for all 16 pins
int mxChan0 = 0;
int mxChan1 = 1;

void setup() {
  // initialize serial communication at 9600 bits per second:
  Serial.begin(9600);
  // set pins
  pinMode(A0, INPUT);
  pinMode(A1, INPUT);
  pinMode(A2, INPUT);
  pinMode(A3, INPUT);
  pinMode(A4, INPUT);
  pinMode(A5, INPUT);
  pinMode(mux1A, OUTPUT);               // set direction for mux1 pins
  pinMode(mux1B, OUTPUT);
  pinMode(mux1C, OUTPUT);
  pinMode(mux1D, OUTPUT);
  digitalWrite(muxInhibit, LOW);        // initialize mux1 pins
  digitalWrite(mux1A, LOW);