and i thought usb would be a piece of cake.i cant get steppers running!!

i hate asking for help i usually like to try to figure things out myself they tend to stay in memory better that way but im new to using a usb port i built a small cnc mill about 8 years ago using lpt port and mach 3. i thought after that usb would be a walk in the park i have spent the last 72 hours trying everything i could find online trying to get a handle on this. i did the tx-rx loop program   no audio no serialresponse.without the jumpers the rx led blinks constantly. a bar forms at the bottom of the serial port like there is a text line to long to fit on the screen.here is the response i get when i query for board info in the ide.

undid jumper on reset to gnd and rx led quit flashing. uploaded digital read serial opened serial mon window one tiny square in top left nothing else. but all this is of small value just want steppers running i will post all this now and see what comes of it.

[codeBN: Unknown board
VID: 1A86
PID: 7523
SN: Upload any sketch to obtain it
]

even when i have the blink program running this is all the info i get. i have no motors and thats what i am after at this point.i dont want lpt i want usb.i tried the 1.x version of hex but it was even more unstable and often couldnt connect to the com port.currently running 0.9i if you could call it running. also not in the ide but in the arduino exe when it is running i can query with $$ and get the list so i know at least the bootloader is loading it and it isnt because it isnt there that my motors wont run. i realy would appreciate any ideas anyone has im totally lost and at this point out of my league. here is a link to exactly what i have.

https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B07P8R66F9/ref=ppx_yo_dt_b_asin_title_o00_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1

im running 64 bit win 7