ARAG flow meter

Hi. I have problem with connecting ARAG flow meter to Arduino. It's working on 12Vdc. I have problem with signal. Technical data says: pulse output 0-12Vdc, 300pls/l and signal emitted only when the fluid is flowing. Now, when flowmeter is inactive, water don't flow in signal cable is 12V. When water is flowing, then there is about 5V. In my opinion, signal should be also 12V or i am wrong??

The sensor may be a plain-vanilla hall-effect device and, at 10l/min, it is effectively producing a 50Hz AC signal, while you are trying to measure DC. The 5v is about the average you might expect.

If it is an electromagnetic meter, I imagine much the same applies.

Hi. This flow meter is electromagnetic. From technical data i assume that the signal is digital - signal = 12Vdc pulses (300 pulses per liter). I can't understand why the meter showing me 5V. Is it a normal behavior? Because of pulses, which looks like this 0V,12V,0V,12V,0V,12V....? Sorry, I'm a electro noob :P Can you explain me what should i do to handle it with Arduino? I found this in Arduino Playground : http://playground.arduino.cc/uploads/Learning/Level_shifting_4_arduino.pdf

Yes, I think it is normal behaviour.

The "0V,12V,0V,12V,0V,12V." you allude to is essentially an AC current, as I mentioned above. I believe you are trying to measure DC current and the 5v is simply the average of what is available. If the digital off was truly 0v and the on was truly 12v, and the on/off ratio was 50%, and the rise and fall times were 0ms, then the average would be 6v, and perhaps more easily understood.

You have other options to measure what is going on.

1. Use a meter with some sort of peak-to-peak facility.
  2. Use a meter with a sample and hold facility
  3. Use an oscilloscope to see the waveform
  4. do nothing

I recommend item 4., as there is no suggestion there is anything actually wrong.