Arduino Based Tester

Hi guys,

Ok, so up front, I'm a complete and utter newbie with Arduino's. I run an general aviation avionics shop and I want to get an automatic tester setup for the wiring harnesses that we put out. Most of the stuff is pretty straightforward for me, but once the Arduino comes in, I'm very much lost. So I figured I'd turn to you guys and see what wisdom I can get. Any help is appreciated and I can't wait to read your responses!!!

Budget is not a concern, though I don't want to go ask the owners for a small fortune. So please keep the suggestions somewhat reasonable in terms of finances.

For an Arduino, I haven't selected one yet and am open to suggestions based on my requirements. I by no means want you guys to design this for me, I'm just look to get put on the right path and going from there.

So, with that being said, read on!

These harnesses vary in size, but use standard DSub connectors. I figure that I can set up a 100 relay setup and control it with the Arduino. Using the Arduino, I'd have a program that would open and close the relative relays, pushing through a 5V signal. The signal would then run through the contacts and the wires (where it should) and then come out into a signal receiver. I'm thinking there would need to be a DMM on both ends to read the voltage going through. The display would read as follows:

Pin Input V Min Max Actual Status
1 5V 4.75V 5.25V 5V PASS

In the beginning, it would be a menu with options leading to the subsections for each harness. I'd really like for a touchscreen, if at all possible.

To put it into a practical example, say we have a harness with a DB9 (9 pin) connector. I want to have a series of relays that are controlled by the arduino. I hit a few buttons and the signal goes through each pin. The signals are read by a couple of meters and the display tells me pass/fail and why. It's basically just a continuity tester.