Arduino between a RC reciever and speed controllers

Hello all,

First of I just want to say that I (a group of 4 but im refering it as me) am a complete noob when it comes to this things.:blush: But we have a school project and this sounded cool so i wanted to try it out.

Second of all, I have done some good amount of searching on this. But as I am a noob I am having trouble to really get everything togheter. With that said, this is my problem.

The idea for the project is that I have a RC 4WD car (1 engine and esc for every wheel). And i want the Arduino to "handle" the signals between the the reciever and esc. The future goal is to add a gyro and to be able to work some magic with this stuff and program a electronic diff, ABS and traction control. But right now im just trying to get it to work normally (full throttle on the controller = full speed on the egnines) so that the arduino just sends the signal through to the esc. I have tried different stuff like PulseIn, servos etc but its not working.

So it would be GREATLY appriciated if someone could give me some pointers on which way is the best to go with this, both now and for the future objectives. As this seems really funny but im having trouble getting this started as i have no experience. :slight_smile:

//Erik

Hi,
Here

Here

Or Here

Duane B

rcarduino.blogspot.com

Thank you very much. That was good reading. We looked alot on the example code and we have some questions about it.

// First Example in a series of posts illustrating reading an RC Receiver with
// micro controller interrupts.
//
// Subsequent posts will provide enhancements required for real world operation
// in high speed applications with multiple inputs.
//
// http://rcarduino.blogspot.com/ 
//
// Posts in the series will be titled - How To Read an RC Receiver With A Microcontroller

#define THROTTLE_SIGNAL_IN 0 // INTERRUPT 0 = DIGITAL PIN 2 - use the interrupt number in attachInterrupt