Arduino Controlled Heat Lamp

Hello everyone!

My name is Tim Broslav, and I am currently new to the Arduino, however I do know some C++. I was wondering if it would be possible to control a heat lamp by using the Arduino to control the voltage input into the lamp. I am designing a bioreactor and the design necessitates an operating temperature of 37 C. So far I have planned out to have the arduino to receive temperature data from a thermocouple, and once a certain threshold in temperature is achieved, the arduino will either raise or lower the voltage to keep the temperature of the bioreactor stable.

Thank for the help! :slight_smile:

37C sounds kind of low for a thermocouple.

1. What are the voltage and current requirements of the heat lamp?
  2. How do you plan on interfacing the thermocouple to the Arduino?

I was wondering if it would be possible to control a heat lamp by using the Arduino to control the voltage input into the lamp.

Normally a heating element simply switches on/off when you are below/above the target temperature (with some hysteresis to avoid relay "chatter") .

There are several popular temperature sensors. The LM35 (and LM34) are analog and they are pretty easy to use.

If you are cycling the temperature on/off, you can get an AC solid state relay that can be directly controlled from the Arduino (5V, low current). A regular relay can work too, but most relay coils cannot be directly driven from the Arduino so they need a driver circuit.

If you want to dim the lamp that can be done, but that requires a [u]phase-controlled dimmer[/u]. The line-voltage AC output has to be optically isolated from the low-voltage Arduino as does input from the zero-crossing phase detector (or you can use a transformer for isolation, which is handy if you're building your own power supply and you already have a transformer).

hey tim -

I do some similar things with heating livestock water.

yea, its feasible. here is what might work, and what might break -