Arduino + cRIO: Is Arduino the Right Choice?

For a semester project, I've been given a cRIO real-time controller, a CAN module for it, and told to "make it work". The goal is to leave it in a state such that a student in a future class can select it as his own project, and expand it from where I left off.

The cRIO system supports both LABView and VxWorks programming. While I would like to use, and have been encouraged to use VxWorks (if there is time after basically figuring out how to get the thing to turn on), the more pressing requirement is the need to connect the CAN module to another CAN-capable device for remote control and data acquisition.

With all that in mind, I am thinking of getting an Arduino board and one of these: http://www.sparkfun.com/products/10039
I like the idea of getting an Arduino in here because it leaves a lot of choices open for the next person to work on this.

Given that I have no experience with Arduino/embedded systems, and I have two months to complete this, I think making LEDs blink via LABView seems like an appropriate goal. Am I being too ambitious? If anyone has a different suggestion for some way to verify that the CAN module is able to read input, please let me know. I briefly thought of directly applying a voltage to one of the high/low pins of the CAN connector, but I wasn't sure if that might be innappropriate.

If anyone is curious, the cRIO stuff I'm allowed to work with is here:
NI cRIO-9074 Chassis:

NI 9853 2-Port High Speed CAN Module:

to complete this

This? What would "this" be?

If anyone has a different suggestion for some way to verify that the CAN module is able to read input, please let me know.

You want to know if a $1200 module from National Instruments that is designed to interact with CANBUS is capable of reading data from CANBUS? I suspect the answer is "yes". I can't imagine they would stay in business very long if the answer was "no".