Arduino for Tiptronic gearbox control

Hi guys, Im new to Arduino, but ok with amateur eletronics. I have a project that im just starting and thought an arduino uno would bee a good controller.

Basically i have an auto gearbox with 3 solenoids in it, two of which change the gears, one of which locks up the torque converter (like a clutch)

These 3 solenoids run on 12v, and i was looking at using a TIP120 to switch the +12v going to the solenoids. I was having a play with a java circuit designer and noticed that if i switch 12v with the 5v i get from the arduino i only get around 4V from the emitter. I did have a play around and manage to get around 10.4 volts by putting a resistor between the base and collector and using a 42k pull up in the arduino.

With this setup i get around 150uA flowing back to the arduino. Is that a problem?

IS there a better way of doing this? I cant switch the ground, as thats the gearbox its self. Just worried 10.4 may not be enough?

Cheers

Gareth

if i switch 12v with the 5v i get from the arduino i only get around 4V from the emitter.

Then your circuit was wrong.

It sounds like you need to do some high-side switching, normally this uses a PNP to do the job and an NPN to switch the PNP.

Google for "high-side switching", if you can't find anything one of us can knock up a circuit.

Rob

Had a little go, using a java circuit designer, and kept blowing the pnp up.

Would you mind doing a diagram? That would be magic :slight_smile:

I may well just go with the tip120's and see of they work.

I thought it would be simple to find a drawing on the web, not so, I can't believe how hard it was to find something. This page has a couple of examples

http://www.bristolwatch.com/ele/transistor_drivers.htm

And this isn't a bad drawing

Rob

Might be an idea to share your circuit diagram.... you are using the transistor to control the connection to ground right? if you place it on the high side of the circuit - you'll run into problems.