Arduino Linux Ubuntu, arduino cant access /dev/ttyUSB0 [SOLVED]

I have Arduino 1.8.5 and Linux Ubuntu 18.04. I'm using an Arduino Uno board.

Hi, I'm very new to both Arduino and Linux, but since the board had the same problem on Windows, I thought I'd try a Linux computer.

I have basically tried doing everything the internet has told me to do so far.

This is the error message I get when I try running a simple "Blink" program.

Arduino: 1.8.5 (Linux), Board: "Arduino/Genuino Uno"

Sketch uses 928 bytes (2%) of program storage space. Maximum is 32256 bytes.
Global variables use 9 bytes (0%) of dynamic memory, leaving 2039 bytes for local variables. Maximum is 2048 bytes.
avrdude: ser_open(): can't open device "/dev/ttyUSB0": Permission denied
Problem uploading to board.  See http://www.arduino.cc/en/Guide/Troubleshooting#upload for suggestions.

This report would have more information with
"Show verbose output during compilation"
option enabled in File -> Preferences.

I have tried following the official guide to solve this, which is;

1. Typing this in the terminal: ls -l /dev/ttyACM*
    you will get something like: crw-rw---- 1 root dialout 188, 0 5 apr 23.01 ttyACM0
  2. Adding myself to the dialout group: sudo usermod -a -G dialout <username>
  • I have also added myself to the tty group, uttc, and disk group, because I saw other people added themselves to those groups and it helped.

I have also tried using sudo chmod a+rw /dev/ttyUSB0]

I have also tried using $ snap install arduino-mhall119 --classic

And I have tried doing sudo -i to get temporary root acces, and then doing all of these things again.

I rebooted my computer numerous times and reinstalled Arduino twice.

Nothing has worked.

I don't know enough about this to really be sure that I did it all right. It seems like my user has access to /dev/ttyUSB0, but my Arduino doesn't, for some reason.

So, if you have any ideas left, I would really appreciate some help.

Hello,