Arduino nano help

Hi, im new to this world of arduino and find it fascinating.
I am currently trying to build a led clock but need the software downloaded to the nano.
Ive never done anything like this before and would appreciate any help anyone can offer.

Cheers

1. Do you want to use a DS3231 RTC Module (Fig-1) for the time of the day.
Figure-1:

2. Do you want to use a 6-digt cc-type 7-segment display unit to show HRS, MIN, and SEC of the day?

TM1367 based 6-digit display module
Figure-2:

or

MAX7219 based 8-digit display unit
Figure-3:
or

Figure-4: Pre-fabricated multiplexed display unit
or

Figure-5:

If your using discrete display devices of Fig-5, you have to connect them together to make multiplexed display unit.

To form a multiplexed display unit, you short together the identical segment pins of all the display devices and keep the cc-pins separated.

Plug the Nano into a USB port of the computer.
Start the Arduino IDE environment.
Select the COM port your Nano is connected to.
Select the "Arduino Nano" as the board you're using.
Load the sketch that you want to program.
Compile and upload the sketch to the Nano.

If your Nano is a clone, you may need to download the CH340 driver, depending upon your Windows version; that's because the USB communications chip on the clone is different.

Hi

Thanks for the info I appreciate it.

Therein is the problem, erm without seeming a total muppet how do I make the sketch?

Is it a case if copy and paste?

Sorry for the insane questions, but I'm keen to learn.

Yes my nano is the clone, thankyou so much

Yes i have the DD3231 rtc

As a beginner, you really should seek out examples to inform, before diving into your chosen project. Fortunately, the Arduino IDE comes complete with (very simple) examples for many things. File|Examples|etc. has a few. Find one that covers your topic, or at least begins to, and ask questions with something to refer to. Asking 'blue sky' questions will get 'blue sky' answers.

1 Like