Arduino + Relay Explanation

Hi there. I am very new to Arduino n Relays. Can somebody please explain me this diagram of Relay + Arduino

Solid State Relays will connect to Arduino the same way?

Solid State Relays will connect to Arduino the same way?

No a solid state relay will look to the Arduino like an LED.

Not a lot to explain, it shows a transistor driving the relay. The relay coil is the square with the line through it. The transistor is the symbol with three connectors labelled base, emitter, collector. R1 shows a resistor, and D1 is a diode. The dotted line shows the relay contacts that are switched.

thanks for the reply.

BTW which relay is safe to deal with AC high Voltage (120V)? Simple Relays or Solid State Relays?

They are both safe as long as you use them within their ratings. That is not push more current through them than they can stand.

A mechanical relay is disconnected when it it off where as a solid state relay is only powered down, so there is a tiny leakage current and you might get a tingle if you touch the powered off live wire, which you shouldn’t be doing anyway.

OK got it thanks.

One more thing, can i use these Relays to make a circuit on Breadboard? Can breadboard handle that much current?

You are not dealing with much current here. I wouldn’t use breadboard above 800mA though. The main problem is mechanically fixing it.

Ok right, so you wont recommend using breadboard for that much current (10Amps). Then what will be the best option to do the circuit? I have never done circuits without breadboards.

Then what will be the best option to do the circuit?

Solder it up on strip board and use wires for the interconnects that carry the large currents.

Alright i have got this relay, i think its a Solid State Relay, will it serve the purpose of powering up a Coffee maker or a simple Bulb that take 110V of current

Its specs show that its input is DC4[ch65374]7[ch65334] and Output is 20A \620.