Arduino + rPi and controlling sensors

I am trying to wrap my brain around how to best do this. I'm pretty new to arduino. From what I can understand, I have to have compiled code on the arduino that will send or listen for data via serial port from my rPi. I have found a tutorial that I think will let me do that.

My question is, when I have multiple sensors or relays attached to the arduino, what's the best way to start/stop data collection or turn on/off a relay?My rPi and arduino uno are connected via USB (serial). I am setting up a web-based control system on the rPi. My only thought was to have the ardunio talk to a MySQL db on the rPi. There, I could create a table that simply records a 1 or 0 if data collection or sensor is to be on. The problem I can see with this is overhead. The arduino would need to check with each iteration of a particular function to see if the sensor is listed as on, and then store the data. That's two SQL statements with each sensor per cycle. The I/O on a rPi is nothing stellar and I can see this bottlenecking eventually. What is another way to do this? I may be fundamentally off on how the two are to communicate.

From what I can understand, I have to have compiled code on the arduino that will send or listen for data via serial port from my rPi

Yes.

when I have multiple sensors or relays attached to the arduino, what's the best way to start/stop data collection

That depends on what data you are collecting, and where you are collecting it. There is no on-size-fits-all answer.

r turn on/off a relay?

There is only one way to turn on or off a relay. Turn the digital pin on (HIGH) or off (LOW).

My only thought was to have the ardunio talk to a MySQL db on the rPi.

It can't do that. It can talk to the Pi, and the Pi can talk to the MySQL database.

I may be fundamentally off on how the two are to communicate.