Arduino + Shocker + Resolume - Possible?

Hello All.

I have some basic experience with Arduino and circuitry, but I'm not sure if this project is possible. Any advice would be very welcome.

I want to create a project about pain, and I've created a video which would be projected. I would like to implement interactivity via touch sensors (basic aluminum capacitive sensor), having a few objects either out of metal or wrapped in aluminum, and connected to the Arduino. What I would also like to do is connect these same objects to a 'shocker', like the pens and lighters we all know. The most basic tutorials for that take apart a one-use analogue camera, and use the components from the flash. Lastly, I'd like to get the information when someone touches/gets shocked by these objects, and use them to control video playback in Resolume Arena, which could be as simple as sending a keystroke from the Arduino, or as complex as using OSC or MIDI translators. It might sound like a game from the Saw movies, and it kind of is, just not deadly. The point is that in order to change the video, someone will get mildly shocked, and have to be in slight pain.

Although I don't know exactly how to manage the communication between Arduino and Resolume, I'm sure that in due time I would find a tutorial.

My main question though is, if combining a shocker and capacitive sensor is plausible. My best guess is not, because I would fry the Arduino. If it is possible, do I just combine the two? Or would it help to 'isolate' the circuits (until of course someone touches them)? Or would it be better to only wire the shocker to the object, and then have the Arduino sense when the circuit is closed (person being shocked)?

My main question though is, if combining a shocker and capacitive sensor is plausible.

Yes.

My best guess is not, because I would fry the Arduino. If it is possible, do I just combine the two? Or would it help to 'isolate' the circuits (until of course someone touches them)?