Arduino Transistor Amplification Tutorial!

I just finished making a tutorial on using basic transistors and a few other simple components to amplify the arduino digital output signal.

There are schematics out there to do it but I figured I would throw it into a nice video with lots of pictures so its easy to understand.

Tell me what you think!

Excellent work. That was a very informative video.

Interesting video. I'm a software engineer myself and not really familiar with the possibilities and limitations of hardware circuits. This kind of videos are really useful in understanding the use and behavior of basic components.

I have never before noticed any special circuits for inductive loads. This video leaves me with some questions about that. I understand that some components might generate an induction because of a magnetic field. But why does the diode solve the problem of overloading the output pin or the transistor?

Well done that was a good video.

But why does the diode solve the problem of overloading the output pin or the transistor?

Current flowing through a coil creates a magnetic field. When that current is stopped the field collapses. As the field collapses it cuts through the coil winding and induces (causes) a voltage to be generated. This voltage is in the opposite direction as the one that caused the field and it's size depends on how many turns the coil has and how fast the field is moving. The result is that a reverse voltage of several hundred volts can be generated. The diode simply shorts this out, the energy going into warming up the diode slightly.

Thanks!

I noticed here that Grumpy Mike says the general advice is to use a 1K resistor for switching:
http://www.arduino.cc/cgi-bin/yabb2/YaBB.pl?num=1262172912/7

But the video shows a 10K.