Arduino Uno Ignoring Delay Function Within For Loop? (I think)

Hello, I am a beginner Arduino user. I recently picked up the hobby and this is my first forum post. I have a beginner kit by DFROBOT called "Beginner Kit for Arduino." This kit includes an Arduino Uno. I am currently on the 4th project of this kit, which is about an LED fading on and off (picture of circuit attached), and I found something interesting. In the following code, it takes one second (1000ms) to fade an LED on and another second to fade it off, and it keeps looping, which is expected.:

int ledPin = 10;

void setup() { 
    pinMode(ledPin,OUTPUT);
}

void loop(){ 
    fadeOn(1000,5);
    fadeOff(1000,5);
}

void fadeOn(unsigned int time,int increment){
    for (unsigned char value = 0 ; value < 255; value+=increment){
      analogWrite(ledPin, value); 
      delay(time/(255/increment));
      }
}
void fadeOff(unsigned int time,int decrement){
    for (unsigned char value = 255; value >0; value-=decrement){
      delay(time/(255/decrement));
      }
}
//You will see the LED getting brighter and fading constantly after uploading the code.

Me being me, I decided to mess around with the increment/decrement values, which is when I noticed something strange with the speed of the fade in and out. Looking at the code, no matter what the increment/decrement value is, each fade in and fade out should take one second, right?