Arduino UNO Plant watering system not working

Hello,
I am a newbie and trying to make a plant watering system using Arduino UNO. Below is the code I used.
When I first switch on power, it works fine. After that it never turns on the pump even if the soil is dry. But if I switch it off and back on, it works for one more time. I tried to read the serial monitor, but the problem is, when I connect the USB cable, it starts working again.
I have kept a delay of 5 hours and the power to the sensor module is OFF before it reaches the 5 hrs to minimise corrosion of sensor probes.
I have also added a Cal switch to bypass the 5 hrs delay.
Any help is appreciated.. Thanks!!

void setup() {
  Serial.begin(9600);                   // initializes serial communication at 9600 bits per second
  pinMode(2, OUTPUT);                   // sets pins 2 to 5 for water pumps in output mode
  pinMode(3, OUTPUT);
  pinMode(4, OUTPUT);
  pinMode(5, OUTPUT);
  pinMode(6, INPUT);                    // Digital pin 6 for Cal switch
  pinMode(7, OUTPUT);                   // sets pin 7 for powering sensors
}

void loop() {                        

digitalWrite(7, HIGH);                // sets the digital pin 7 high, to power sensors
  delay(2000);                          // waits for 2 seconds

int sensorValue1 = analogRead(A0);    // read value of humidity sensor
  int sensorValue2 = analogRead(A1);
  int sensorValue3 = analogRead(A2);
  int sensorValue4 = analogRead(A3);
  Serial.println(sensorValue1);         // prints value to serial
  Serial.println(sensorValue2);
  Serial.println(sensorValue3);
  Serial.println(sensorValue4);

if(sensorValue1 > 450){              // Value to be adjusted based on actual testing
    digitalWrite(2, HIGH);             // turns pump1 on if moisture is less than set value
    delay(500);                       // waits for 1sec
  }
  else{
    digitalWrite(2, LOW);              // does not turn on pump 1 if moisture level is sufficient
  }