Arduino UNO: Send Data via RS232 :o

Hello,

I am needing help regarding the Arduino UNO. I am trying to send functions from my Ardunio Uno to an external device and then receive the data back from my external device to my Arduino UNO via RS232. My ultimate goal is to automate the device by using the Arduino UNO. I will like my Arduino UNO to automatically send functions (i.e The functions are: 1#, 2#, 3#, 4#, 5#, 6#, 7#, 8#, 9#) to my device and my device will automatically send back to the Arduino UNO with its responding data to that function (i.e. By sending 1# to the device, the device should respond back with it's voltage). Im very new to coding in Ardunio language. I originally wrote my code in C# and it worked fine but now I have to use an Arduino which isnt compatible with C#. The first thing I need to do is Send those funtions ( 1#, 2#, 3#, 4#, 5#, 6#, 7#, 8#, 9#) to my external device. Can anyone assist me or guide me in the right direction? I will post my C# code below showing how I sent those functions using C#. I will really appreciate you guys help.

Thanks in advance!

//Sends functions 1-9 along with # which is 0xD
 public void SendData(ref int temp2, SerialPort _serialPort)
        {
            try
            {

string c = Convert.ToString(temp2);
                byte[] array_out = Encoding.ASCII.GetBytes(c);
                _serialPort.Write(array_out, 0, array_out.Length);
                byte[] array_out2 = new byte[1];
                array_out2[0] = 0xD;
                _serialPort.Write(array_out2, 0, array_out2.Length);

_serialPort.Write(array_out, 0, array_out.Length);
                _serialPort.Write(array_out2, 0, array_out2.Length);

I am trying to send functions from my Ardunio Uno

That doesn't sound quite right. What is it exactly that you want to send from the Arduino ?

I am trying to send 1#, 2#, 3#, 4#, 5#, 6#, 7#, 8#, 9# from my arduino uno.

void setup()
{
  Serial.begin(115200);
  for (int x = 1; x < 10; x++)
  {