RS232 - Arduino Uno

Hello Users,

I am a newbie to Arduino. Last week I got my first Arduino Uno, using the board I want to establish Serial Communication (RS232) between my Arduino and an External Hardware device with SubD9 plug and should communicate using RS232. But I am not successful in doing so.To me it seems that it is not able to find the device.

As if I write something on the serial monitor, I can see my Debug sentence being displayed.

Can anyone among you be kind enough to provide me with some hints like is the code wrong or do I need some extra Hardware to achieve so.

Attached you will find the code I am trying to use.

Thanking you in anticipation.

#include <SoftwareSerial.h>

SoftwareSerial mySerial(0, 1); // RX, TX

void setup() {
  // Open serial communications and wait for port to open:
  mySerial.begin(9600);
  mySerial.println("Hello, world?"); // for Debugging purposes
  mySerial.flush();

}

void loop()
{ 
  while(mySerial.available()==0);
  mySerial.write("idn?"); // Should answer to command "idn?"
  delay(20); 
  mySerial.println("written"); // for Debugging purposes
  delay(20);
  mySerial.read();
  mySerial.println(mySerial.read());
}

Which Arduino did you get? UNO? Did you also get a TTL-RS232 converter?

Hi,

I got UNO. And I haven’t get TTL-RS232 Converter.

As seen in the attached image, I am providing 12 volt through an external source and TD/RD from UNO

Is TTL-RS232 necessary?

Regards

Stecker.JPG

Don’t use software serial on the hardware serial pins; pick two other pins and use those; looking at your sketch, you can just as well use Serial instead of software serial.

If you want to keep the hardware serial port to debug using the serial monitor, use two other pins for software serial as I indicated above.

As mentioned by adwsystems, you need a TTL-RS232 adapter; signal levels are wrong and the signals are inverted (0V / 5V <-> +12V / -12V).