Arduino Uno Wifi Rev 2/ATMEGA4809 : Watchdog always restarts whole system

Hello,

after i managed to set the Arduino to sleeping mode, the Watchdog restarts the whole system after 8 seconds. So far so good. But instead of restarting the complete system I would like to continue after the “sleeping line” to repeat the sleeping phase 5 more times. I already checked out the ATMEGA4809 Datasheet, but didn’t find anything to deal with this issue. On the other hand I found some sample codes from other ATMEGA microcontroler models where it seems to be possible. For example here:

Maybe it’s because I’m quite new to this topic, but there are also 2 more things I don’t understand and I would be extremely thankul if someone could also answer these two questions:

1. In the Datasheet “WDT.STATUS” has to be set to 0 to enable the Watchdog. For me it also works if it is set to 1. So for what is this variable needed?
  2. In the Datasheet “CPU.CCP” has to be set to “IOREG”, respectevely to “0xD8” before enabling the Watchdog. For me just “CPU_CCP” worked. So instead of the dot, I had to use the underscore. Is that a mistake in the Datasheet?
    Here is the source of the datasheet I used as a reference: http://ww1.microchip.com/downloads/en/DeviceDoc/40002015A.pdf

Here is my code. Thanks in advance for your help!

Regards,

Manuel

#include <avr/sleep.h>

int count = 0;
void setup() 
{
  //Waiting time
  Serial.begin(9600);
}

void loop() 
{
  for(int i = 0; i < 5; i++){
    delay(1000);
    Serial.println(count++);
  }
  watchdogOn();
  Serial.println("Continue here with operation to set the Arduino again in sleep mode");
  //watchdogOn();
  //watchdogOn();
}

//Set Watchdog active to 8s and go to sleep
void watchdogOn() {
  WDT.STATUS = WDT.STATUS & 01111111;
  while (!(WDT.STATUS == 0)){
      Serial.println("...");
  }
  CPU_CCP = 0xD8; //unlock...
  WDT.CTRLA = 0xB; //set WDT to 8 seconds
  Serial.println("Watchdog active...and going to sleep");
  delay(100);