Arduino voltage drop

Hello,
I am new to arduino community and a new arduino user as well!
I am trying to connect a proximity sensor (6-36V)with the board as the attached image shows.
I constantly see voltage with a poly meter by connecting + to5v and - to GND of the BREADBOARD
•when I connect the arduino via usb:
I connect the sensor to 5v, gnd and analogpin
I see voltage drop to about 4.4Vand the small led on the sensor is dimming. I read from the analog pin 24% ( proximity percentage when I’m literaly touching the sensor)
• when I’m using 9v battery for the sensor and I don’t connect the battery’s gnd to the arduinos gnd, the led lights up but I get no info. That’s because the circuit isn’t close. Well if I connect the arduinos ground to the battery’s it dims and I get 0-5%( proximity percentage
•if i connect external power on arduino 12v:
• I use 5v and the same connection as the picture, then the voltage drop and the info remains the same
• if I use the VIN on arduino I get 11.1 V, the sensor works and I get 99% proximity when I touch the sensor with metal.

I know that the sensor need more voltage but I have voltage small drops even when I use just a led and a resistor (connected to 5v,GNd) and when I’m trying to drive dual relay rated at 5V. At the same time I switch 2 dual relays(4 switches) and they turn on their small onboard leds(4) so I go down to about 4 voltages. They do switch but while and after the switching the voltage drops.
My questions are:
• are the voltage drops normal?
• can I use vin for the sensor and the relays? why shou I use 5V and not VIn which outputs 11 v(again voltage drop0.1V)
Thanks in advance and sorry for the long post

Most common "commercial" proximity sensors work best around the 24V range.
Some "hobby" sensors work around the 5 volt range.