astistance with artist project: rotating table top

Hi Everyone,

I’m an artist and am completely new to aduino as well as stepper motors. I was wondering if there’s someone on the forum who’s a pro at these sorts of things that might be interested in assisting me with a project I’m working on. Please take a look and If you’re interested or know anyone who might be, please pass on my details. I will of course be happy to pay for your time (however sadly I’m not loaded).

The project:

In a nutshell, I would like to programme a stepper motor to rotate the top of a table at a very specific speed- one ration corresponding to the time it takes for the Planet Saturn to make a full rotation. 10 hours and 39 minutes.

The accuracy of the rotation is quite important and so is the smoothness- if possible I would like it to move imperceptibly.

The table is a small coffee table – see pics attached. The top of the table weighs approx 3 to 4 kg. (I plan to decrease the weight by routering out the excess of the bottom side. Once done I hope it should weigh around 2 ½ kg.

I would like to conceal the motor from view, so the length of the motor is a concern, but the width could be as large as is needed.

If theirs someone out there who’s interested, I would very much appreciate help with feasibility, recommendations on hardware to purchase and complete programming/coding.
It would also be a great to find someone not to far away in the uk.

I look forward to hearing from you

Thanks,
George

If you want someone to help you in return for payment you should ask in the Gigs and Collaborations section of the Forum.

Stepper motors move in steps. You can have very long intervals between steps for slow movement. if you want to reduce the impact of steps it would probably make sense to use gears so that a single rotation of the motor only moves the table a small amount.