AY0438 and Arduino?

I am just starting out with this. I am trying to get a 4 digit 7 Segment LCD to work with an Arduino. I have been able to get the normal 2x24 lcds, but no luck so far with the 7 segment? I came across the AY0438 chip which is a serial LCD driver. New to serial, new to lcd...

Anyone have a suggestion for starting with this chip. If not, do you have a suggestion on another chip or how to directly control a 7 segment lcd?

Okay, I think I at least now know how to better ask my question. First I am very new to arduino and this is my first attempt at serial communication. I am trying to control a 7 segment 4 digit LCD with a AY0438 lcd driver which communicates serially.

This is where my trouble comes in. Is there a site that lists the commands used for serial communication? I can look at other codes out there and get some of it but not all of it.

The trouble is I see several ways to do it but not sure what all the parts of the code are doing. ... I am looking for something that says "to send do this", "to stop sending do this", or to "send multiple strings do this", and maybe "store info like this." Does this exist?

At this point I am willing to pay someone for help too. I am trying to learn, but there isnt anyone nearby that I can talk too, so I spend hours online and get closer and closer but just can't make the final plunge. Most of what I find is well past my current abilities and think if I can get it broke down for me I can move up quickly.

The data sheet for the driver is at http://ww1.microchip.com/downloads/en/devicedoc/80438a.pdf
The pin layout for the LCD is at http://rocky.digikey.com/WebLib/Varitronix/Web%20Data/VI422.htm