Azure monitoring alarm

Hi all,

• Problem: I work in IT and we have several applications in Azure used by our business. We have daily processings to load various data. As you can imagine, it happens that they fail and we have setup an email notification to let us know. The problem is that our Dev team is not always checking carefully their emails, especially if we get many. It even happens that our client read the notification first and it is embarassing.
  • Solution: I had a funny idea to setup in our open space an arduino device with a small rotating light which would be turned on when an issue in our Azure applications occurs.
    So it would be kind of the opposite of IoT (which sends sensor data to Azure) as in this case we would need Azure to send the notification to Arduino.

I am not sure what would be the best way to connect my Arduino to Azure. We have wifi in the office so that should be the best option if I convice my IT departement that it is secure.

What do you think? :slight_smile:
I am very entousiastic about this project as it has a real application at work :wink:

Interesting concept.

What is an Azure?

How do you imagine the light will get turned off?

Paul

antonito901:
...it happens that they fail and we have setup an email notification to let us know...

Buy a Raspberry Pi. Buy a relay board for your Pi. Install Raspbian. Configure the Pi's firewall to allow no inbound connections (or limited inbound connections). Connect it to your corporate network. Assign an email address to your Pi. Add that email address to your "got bad news" distribution list. Cobble together some Python to fetch email from that email address. When email arrives turn on a relay. Connect your light to the relay.

Buy a large button. Connect the large button to a digital input on your Pi. When the button is pressed turn off the relay.

Or, send a canned email to the Pi (e.g. "LIGHT OFF" in the body) to turn off the relay.