Basic transistor Buffer to control lots of LEDs

Hi all. I'm a high-school student with what is probably a really simple question. But I need an answer ASAP for a competition project and we're on holidays so I can't contact my teacher.

I'm using an Arduino Duemallinove (ATmega 328) to turn a large amount of standard LEDs wired in parallel to a single Digital pin on the Arduino.

There would be in excess of 20 LEDs on a single pin. The LEDs are simply wired in parallel, they are not in a matrix or 7 seg display. And when the project is complete around 10 of the digital pins will be in use.

My teacher briefly told me I will almost certainly be drawing too much power from the Arduino (he has no experience with them). He suggested I use a single transistor buffer on each pin to control the current flow.

Problem is I have very little experience with buffers or the limits before you overload the Arduino. Can someone please tell me how many LEDs can be safely connected to an Arduino without a buffer, and if I were to use a buffer, what values for the resistor and transistor should I use.

Oh and to make matters more confusing, a friend of mine building a similar project went ahead and built his circuit without a buffer. The LEDs worked perfectly and his Arduino was fine. Still I want to be safe rather than sorry.

You can safely draw about 20mA out of an Arduino pin. That will run between one and two LEDs in parallel (assuming 10-20mA per LED. You'll still need the current limiting resistor.)

If you want to have more than 2 LEDs in parallel, you can either run them at lower currents (3-4mA is often bright enough for indicator lights), or use a transistor to switch them. Another alternative is putting LEDs in series - at 5v, you can usually put 2 LEDs in series, and two sets of two makes four LEDs per pin at 20mA total (10mA per LED).