Beginner Arduino Uno Capacitor question

I'm very new to the Arduino Uno and I'm on project 5 of the booklet that came with it. This introduces 100uf capacitors. I was doing well until I read to be careful because it can explode if placed wrong, which stopped me in my tracks because I'm doing this with my young nephew. I guess my questions are, if a 100uf explodes is it a small poof of something dangerous? I bought a multimeter but to help me feel more confident but I'm new to using that as well. Also, do I need to discharge it once I'm done with the project? If so how do I do that safely? My last question is ca I store these components in a regular plastic organizer/box or do they have to be in a anti static container of some sort? Any newbie advice would be appreciated, thanks!

Electrolytic caps have their leads marked (+) and (-)
Sometimes only one leg is marked… the other is obviously the other.

The + positive leg goes to the ‘more positive’ of the connected points.

e.g. +5V and ground (0V)

• or in odd cases… 0V and (-12V (would be the more negative)

Always use the right cap in the selected location. The biggest factor is an operating voltage higher than the highest likely voltage at the connected points
e.g 10V 100uF would be fine on a 5V circuit.

It’s a valid question, because depending in the ratings of the cap, the ‘explosion’ can be significant - taking out an eye, or burning you with hot guts/electrolyte.

A 100uF cap connected to 5V and in reverse will pop. Not real dangerous but could be an eye hazard. Keep your face away from the circuit when powering it up. Just be very careful to observe polarity. The cap should have its polarity clearly marked.

Not a 100uF charged to 5V. In old TV sets there were caps charged to thousands of volts. Those were very dangerous.

Resistors, caps, LEDs and such do not need to be stored in static free containers. ICs and MOSFETs may benefit by being stored in anti-static.