Beginner Serial Communication

Hello,

I am relatively new to Arduino and have never done any serial communication before. The process sounds simple enough but I'm having trouble getting it to work. Let me describe my problem. I am using a Fluke 414D Laser distance meter, coupled with the Porcupine Electronics LR4 Interface Board. There are two ways to communicate with the LR4 interface board: via USB through your computer, and via the TX and RX pins on the board to an appropriate micro-controller. I am using the latter, with an Arduino Leonardo.

I should note however, that the laser meter works with the USB communication to my computer and with the Porcupine Electronics demo software.

Here is a link to the LR4 website: http://www.porcupineelectronics.com/Laserbotics.html And this is the datasheet (please refer to page 10 and 11): http://www.porcupineelectronics.com/uploads/LR4_Data_Sheet.pdf

As per the datasheet, I am trying to start the laser by sending the byte 'g' via the TX pin on the Arduino, to the RX pin on the LR4 board...but I am not getting any response. Additionally, the LR4 board is outputting the decimal value 255 when I call Serial.read().

I have tried a number of different variations of my code but nothing seems to work. Here is an example anyway of some code...that didn't work.

byte goByte = 0x67;                //g
byte stopByte = 0x73;              //s
byte inByte = 0;                   //recieved bytes via RX

void setup(){
  Serial.begin(9600);              //9600 as per the datasheet
  while(!Serial){                  //I have read that this is important for the Leonardo
    ;
  }
}

void loop(){
  Serial.write(stopByte);          //Stop the laser
  delay(5000);
  Serial.write(goByte);            //Start the laser
  delay(5000);

if(Serial.available() > 0);{
   inByte = Serial.read();          //Read what's on the RX line
   delay(500);
   Serial.print("Incoming Byte: ");  
   Serial.println(inByte);   
   delay(500);
  }
}