Blocking

I have been using Arduino for about 2 years now and it seems like a problem I almost always run into with these things is that eventually they start doing random things for unexplainable reason. Things like ignoring lines of code, not responding to user interaction, freezing data readouts, displaying incorrect sensor data, etc.

The problem I currently have is with all each of those issues… But what’s confusing me, is that while I have made VERY few changes to this code over a period of only a couple months, the problems are getting progressively worse over time.

My current project uses a Sainsmart Arduino Nano, a uLCD32-PTu from 4D systems, 2 Dallas DS18B20 temperature sensors and a 2 channel relay. All my controller is meant to do is essentially work as a thermostat. If one of the sensor’s heat reading is higher than the corresponding Slider value, turn the corresponding relay on and then off when temperature is lower. Simple enough?

I will focus on one problem at a time in order of significance…
Problem: At completely random times during operation, temperature data that is being sent to display on my LCD will simply freeze it’s last read data on the screen…but after a time span of 3 minutes, 5 minutes, or even 15 minutes, it will randomly start reading the live temperature data again.

The other half of my problem, is that if I use the LCD to change either of my slider values, there is sometimes a VERY long delay in response to the value change, or sometimes no response at all when it should be, and used to be immediate. Further confusing me, if I change the value of a slider, it sometimes seems to control the wrong corresponding relay.

Clearly, my Arduino is getting VERY confused somewhere and I have no idea why it’s blocking and having other issues like this… I may just need a set of fresh eyes to proof read my code and make sure I’m doing data calls correctly. Has anyone had a problem like this and if so, how did you fix it?

Here is my code