Building a Big Giant Robot (BGR)

Hey guys,
This is a call out to all you great programmers out there that want a challenge! Here is the gist of my project:

For an upcoming family reunion I wanted to build a quadruped robot. similar to the Kame robot on thingiverse…With one minor difference. I wanted to make it big enough for me to ride it, and controlled with a simple 4 direction joystick.

Attached is a picture of what I have built so far. Yes, it is made mostly from PVC pipe.

My background is mechanical engineering and materials science, so building this was in my area. However, our reunion is coming up at the end of June. I’m an amateur programmer at best.

The problem is, I don’t think I can finish programming this in the next 6 weeks. I am keeping it simple, I just want it to take one step at a time, called a creep gait. All the motors will be going at the same speed. The sequence will be controlled by the limit switches. I have relays for the high current.

If there is time, I want to add a switch that switches from a creep gait to a two foot walking gait.

I also want it to be able to walk in all 4 directions. Forward, Backward, Left, and Right. No diagnol directions.

Anyway, who’s up for a challenge?

Here is a parts list of what I’m using.
Motors: Cordless drills x 8, 2 per leg. One raises the foot. One moves the hip forward and back.

Sensors:
Mechanical Limit switches - 2 per motor. They reverse direction of the motor when bumped.

Encoder wheels - 1 per hip. Not using yet. May need them to control moving all legs at once.

Relay Blocks - 2 relay strips with 8 relays each. I’m using them to give me forward and reverse.

Power source - each drill comes with a battery. So, 8 nicad batteries.

Board - Arduino Mega! Lots of pins

Controls - Joystick, here is the link https://www.amazon.com/gp/aw/d/B01MY8NQEW/ref=mp_s_a_1_19?ie=UTF8&qid=1526321061&sr=8-19&pi=AC_SX236_SY340_QL65&keywords=joystick+arduino&dpPl=1&dpID=41nJXxvydDL&ref=plSrch