Button to start/stop program

I have been looking for a tutorial on how to make a program start and stop by the press of a button. So far the only things I can find are how to get an led to light up when you push the button. Can anyone point me in a direction to help me accomplish this task; is it even possible to have a program start and stop the loop by the press of a button?

?? Start loop. Check button status. Button not pressed? Chill. Button pressed? Do stuff. Loop. ??

bigred1212: ?? Start loop. Check button status. Button not pressed? Chill. Button pressed? Do stuff. Loop. ??

Sorry, I am new to this kind of programming. The lack of int main and return 0 throw me off. Is there a way to break out of the main loop where I have all my code at?

I think I figured it out... sorry.. seems like a silly question now that I know what to do.

You could write a conditional if statement around any code you only want to run while the program is functioning, and when you press the button you can simple toggle the state of the variable between true and false or 255 and 0. Alternatively you could use interrupts to toggle the variable (if you do this make sure the variable is declared as volatile).

Below is some demo code:

int run;
int buttonPin;

void setup()
{
   run = 0; //starts stopped
   buttonPin = 7; //whatever pin your button is plugged into

pinMode(buttonPin, INPUT_PULLUP);
}

void loop()
{
   //code you always run here; you can leave this section blank if you want the entire program to stop and start, or add code here if you want it to always run

//check button press here and if it is pressed then toggle run variable between 0 and 255; REQUIRED!
   if(digitalRead(buttonPin) == LOW) //funcitons based off of button pulling input pin LOW
   {
      if(run == 0)
      {
          run = 255;
      }
      else
      {
          run = 0;
      }
   }

if(run > 0)
   {