Cant paste url

Im trying to copy and paste a URL for the 3266 board from git hub.
it wont paste. When I opened up a blank paper in word, it works. when the curser is in the "Additional Board Manager position"- nothing
any ideas?? Im new to Arduino and no to computer savvy - keep it simple, please!!

That is strange. Which version of the Arduino IDE are you using? Which operating system are you using?

You might try clicking the button to the right on the Additional Boards Manager URLs field and try pasting the URL into the entry field in the dialog that pops up after that. I have no specific reason to think that will work any differently, but it's worth a try as a possible workaround.

I'm using Windows 10. It was updated last night?? As for the version of Arduino, Im not sure, I just installed it a couple of days ago. how can I tell which version I have??

I tried clicking the button to the right and entering it there, no luck. I even tried to type in the URL and when I looked for it in tools, nothing.

That said, I ran the hello world sketch with the LCD and that works fine, the esp8266, linked up and the current driver was identified as current, and device working.

Thanks for the quick reply.

Danny,

storboard:
when I looked for it in tools, nothing.

Adding the URL to the Additional Boards Manager URLs field is only the first step to installing ESP8266 support to the Arduino IDE. The other steps:

• Tools > Board > Boards Manager
  • Wait for the downloads to finish.
  • From the list of available platforms, click on "esp8266 by ESP8266 Community".
  • Click the "Install" button.
  • Wait for the installation to finish.
  • Click the "Close" button.

You should now see the ESP8266 boards in the Tools > Board menu.

Ok, I think I got it. My biggest problem is I am new to this. I did not “get where I was” in the screen I was looking at. I have down loaded several files, and kinda figured out how to get them into a file/sketch.