Chicken door opener ( not pop hole )

Hi all I am very new to Arduino and wonder if someone with more experience ( which will be all of you) could offer some advice on if this could work.

Not wanting a pop hole opener ( as seen on the forum, a motor lifting a door ) my wife who has 3 chicken houses the main one is in an enclosure which is opened during the day.

I want to set the arduino up so the main gate on the enclosure opens at a set time (RTC I suppose) within a set time after that the first door opens ( I thought about using an electronic lock £5 ebay) this and a gate spring would swing the door open ?

Using the same type of instruction a 2nd lock and door open on the next chicken coop and lastly the 3rd chicken coop. the first and 2nd are quite close the other is approx. 40 feet away

Is this feasible the locks I have seen on Ebay are 12v, Ideally I would want this run off a 12v battery and solar panel to trickle charge ( or is this just too complicated ?) These were my thoughts once I am more confident but thought I would ask now for advice. I didn't want to go down the levels of light etc just set to open at a specific time each day with the RTC I assume when the clocks go back this is easy to programme in.?

You will note I have said nothing about closing them up at night, my wife likes to make sure all the chickens are away so it will just be a case of closing the door ourselves. As you can see from my description I am very new to this. Any help would be appreciated. Cliff

I know you say you dont want it to work using light but from a programming stand point, it would be a whole lot easier to use a photoresistor to open a switch rather than setting up a timer. You would just set a pin as input and when the sun comes up the photoresistor would increase voltage. When the pin voltage reaches a certain point you would use another pin to open your door. Real simple.