CIRC-03 why the diode?

Hi all,

I am a complete novice when it comes to electronics (but not programming). I am working through the Arduino exercises and am having no trouble building the circuits and coding them, but this is very ‘parrot fashion’, I would like to understand what is happening within the circuits.

In CIRC-03 a diode is used, but I don’t understand why it is placed and connected the way that it is. I understand that it is there to protect the circuit and that it only allows current to flow in one direction. However, when I look at the schematic and board layout, it just seems to provide a one way connection between the + and - connections of the motor, it does not seem to provide a bridge or break in the circuit. For example I can see that the resistor provides a bridge that the current must cross to get from pin 9 to the base of the diode. I cannot see this bridge in the case of the diode - how is it protecting the circuit?

Sorry for the long question, I hope it makes sense.

Thanks
Chris

Please post the schematic or a link to what you are referring to

I presume you are referring to the Oomlout starter kit rather than the official Arduino one?

http://oomlout.com/a/products/ardx/circ-03/

Wow, thanks for the quick responses. Yes this is the Oomlout Circ-03. Schematic attached.

ARDX-SC-03-150.png

From the link I provided:

The 1N4001 diode is acting as a flyback diode for details on why its there visit: 4001 Redirect

To be a little more elaborate: A motor is a inductive circuit meaning it stores electrical energy in a magnetic field. An inductive circuit acts in such a way that it uses its stored energy to counteract changes in current by generating a voltage. When the current is disrupted this voltage can reach tens or even hundreds of volts even for a small motor causing malfunction or damage in other components. The freewhelling or flyback diode provides a path for the stored energy to discharge safely