circuit to turn an LED off while button is pressed

I’m an absolute amateur when it comes to electronics, so this post is probably riddled with incorrect assumptions- I would appreciate being corrected where possible!

I’m trying to drive an LED+button ( https://www.amazon.com/EG-STARTS-Illuminated-Joystick-Raspberry/dp/B06Y29LBJ4/ ) from ~10ft away.

There are 4 pins available to me- the annode/cathode of the LED, and then the two pins of the button.

I’m reading the button from an arduino nano with an INPUT_PULLUP pin (aka, a built-in 20k pullup resistor), so the pin should go LOW when the button is pressed.

The LED is actually 2 small LEDs in parallel, preceded by a single 201 ohm resistor in series.

What I want to do is

1. Not compromise the accuracy of the button input readings, and
  2. have the LED on when the button is unpressed, and off while the button is pressed.

Is there a simple way to only send 2 wires (pin input and gnd) down the 10ft? (It would also be fine to send a 3rd wire carrying 5v). I’ve attached a schematic, but like I said- I really have very little idea what I’m doing and would appreciate some correction. Given I’m on the totally wrong track, what is a more coherent way to do this?

You can do it with 3 wires but they need to be one GND (as you've drawn it), one from a digital OUTPUT pin to the LED and another from a digital pin (in INPUT_PULLUP mode) to the switch.

Steve

What I want to do is

1. Not compromise the accuracy of the button input readings, and
  2. have the LED on when the button is unpressed, and off while the button is pressed.

If you press the button as wired, you'll short your 5V power supply.
You need to separate the button circuit from the led circuit.
Read the button and then turn on the led with an output,
or
Just move the button to across the led.
When you press the button you'll bypass the led and they won't
get any current and therefore will be off when it is pressed and
on when it is unpressed.