Code size

Why does an Arduino sketch take up so much precious code space? A few lines of code takes up 2k?

Also, can I create a MAP file somehow (to answer the above question?)?

Libraries, my friend, libraries…
Remember those "include"s?

can I create a MAP file somehow

see this thread for info on avr-objdump:
http://www.arduino.cc/cgi-bin/yabb2/YaBB.pl?num=1207951658

you can find info on the arguments for avr-objdump here: avr-objdump

I have no “includes”. The code is really only a few lines with an interrupt.

I’m not a developer, just a newbie programmer curious why the code is so big.

Is there some way to “turn off” or not include unnecessary stuff?

A sketch with nothing but empty setup and loop functions uses just under 1k of program memory. These are for some of the core arduino functions like the interrupt handlers that will be used when you start using millis and analog writes.

If want to use Arduino functions then you do need to have that code. But I think you may be pleasently surprised how much stuff you can do within the available program memory.

Have fun!

Thanks for the info.

A fellow programmer here at work claims there must be a way to get a MAP file of the code. Is that possible?

1. A map is of somewhat limited use when most of the functions are invisible to you. However, there is a utility “avr-nm” (display name list) that sort-of shows the info you want. Here’s (edited) output from “avr-nm -S blink.elf” using the basic blink code as an example. The second column is length:
000002fc 00000054 T delay
00000400 00000096 T digitalWrite
0000008b 00000014 T digital_pin_to_bit_mask_PGM
00000077 00000014 T digital_pin_to_port_PGM
0000009f 00000014 T digital_pin_to_timer_PGM
0000057a W exit
00000350 00000074 T init
0080010a 00000004 b intFunc
00800100 00000002 D ledPin
0000010a 0000002e T loop
00000144 0000000e T main
000003c4 0000003c T pinMode
00000072 00000005 T port_to_input_PGM
00000068 00000005 T port_to_mode_PGM