coding the dac

hi guys!

i am a 20 year old student and this is one of my first posts, so forgive me if i ask some stupid questions.

i am trying to code the dac MCP 4822 but i dont want to use complicated code like:

byte lowByte = val & 0xff;
  byte highByte = ((val >> 8) & 0xff) | channel << 7 | gain << 5 | shutdown << 4;

digitalWrite(latchPin, 1);
  digitalWrite(csPin, 0);

SPI.transfer(highByte);
  SPI.transfer(lowByte);

digitalWrite(csPin, 1);
  digitalWrite(latchPin, 0);

basically i dont want to control the CS pin manually or use bit wise operators.

i figured out that one way of doing so will be to use the MCP 4822 header file available in the arduino library.
unfortunately i dont have the code that uses this header file. so if any one can help me with the code to op 0v and 5v from the DAC using this header file i would be very pleased.

thanks in advance,
cheers,
Marrc

Does the library not come with examples ?

If you have a library with a .h file the first thing to do is read the .h file to see what functions it provides, read any comments and then look for any examples in that library.

If its still mysterious the chances are the library is poorly documented - find another one if your can - or
write your own. This is a great exercise, all the messy low-level code in encapsulated in the library
for any other sketches to use.

still looking for answers on how to code MCP 4822. i just want some basic stuff to get started like code to output 1v and 5v from the dac. there is little provided in terms of examples in the IDE so any inputs will be appreciated.
cheers,
marrc

There's an MCP48xx DAC Library available in the IDE's library manager. Might be a good place to start?

marrc:
still looking for answers on how to code MCP 4822.

Why is that? I just read reply #1 and looked up the example sketch:

Have you tried the MCP48xx DAC library and the example program that comes with that? It's available in the Library Manager and looks easy enough.

Steve