Compile works first time but fails second time

First off - I'm new to Arduino and this forum so apologies if I make any rookie errors. I've looked on Google, the forum and the Troubleshooting Guide and read the forum posting guidance.

I've got a MEGA 2560 and I'm running version 1.8.13 of the IDE. I'm trying things out using the Blink example program.

The problem I'm seeing is that the first time I compile my program, it's fine but the second time, I see "Error Compiling for board Arduino Mega or Mega 2560". (more details below).

If the first compile is part of an upload (so an implicit compile), the Arduino is updated with my program. I've made sure of that by altering the blink speed. There is no doubt that the modified code ends up on the processor - I see the blink rate change.

The second time I try to upload, I hit the error mentioned below. Even if I just compile the first time and don't upload, the second compile will fail, so I think it's a problem with what the IDE is doing rather than anything associated with the board.

The error message I get is:

Arduino: 1.8.13 (Windows Store 1.8.39.0) (Windows 10), Board: "Arduino Mega or Mega 2560, ATmega2560 (Mega 2560)"