Complete noob to arduino

Well I wanted to install LEDs into my desk to give me some light to do homework by, and to just kind of look cool. I was planning to just do a simple circuit controlled by multiple batteries and an on off switch in there.

I saw arduino while looking for LED circuits and well what can I say, I am now hooked to the idea of using arduino to be able to control my LEDs. I just have a few questions.

I want to control 15+ LEDs which Arduino board should I get, also does arduino support RGB leds? And how would you guys suggest I get my project done. Again I am a complete noob at this so please don't flame me because this might seem like childs play to someone but to me it is rocket science to the 10th degree.

Also would I need any additional equipment if I wanted to control say 20+ LEDs? Or even with my current 15 leds?

have you looked at this area of the playground yet for projects or an idea? Lots of info there.

http://www.arduino.cc/playground/Main/InterfacingWithHardware#LED

You're going to need some external drivers. Do you have the specs for the LEDs?

Well I am not yet set on what LEDs I am going to use, I was planning on heading over to radioshack and picking some up there. Any suggestions for a good bright LED?

You need to be thinking about much current you need to light your LEDs. An Arduino can supply at most about 200mA across all its pins, so you'll need to be thinking about some external components in addition to your Arduino.

Alright, I understand the mA usage and such, but when you speak of external components what would those be. Sorry for being a noob.

You still haven't told us about your LEDs and how you want to wire them or what their specs are.

I havent purchased LEDs yet but I want either plain white LEDs or RGB LEDs, but I would like to hear any suggestions.

OK well I was interested in getting some RGB LED's and was wondering if these are any good?