Completely new- please steer me in the right direction.

Greetings all,

I discovered arduino a few days ago while pursuing methods to carry out some project ideas of mine. Suffice to say, I'm a complete novice when it comes to this kind of thing. I've never used arduino before or really done anything much in the way of design/building. I have a solid knowledge of physics and electronics and can learn new things fast. I'm interested in a possible career in engineering and figured that here is as good a place to start as any. My project ideas are ambitious and I realize that it will be a good deal of time before I'll have a hope of completing them. For instance, I'm interested in building things from an automatic fetch machine for my dog to flying quadcopters that are programmed to follow a specific path to entire systems designed to complete tasks.

Any advice, tips, suggestions, and pointers would be deeply appreciated. What's the fastest way to learn the arduino programming language? What would be a good first project to try? Is there a particular model of the arduino microcontroller that is suited for beginners? What are some examples for uses of arduino that you've come up with/built? Please include anything else you find to be pertinent.

Thank you.

There are some getting started kits around on sparkfun and adafruit. I would start with one of those. There are also several books about programming with the arduino. I liked 30 Arduino Projects for the Evil Genius. What projects you start with first really depends on how much you know about electronics already. If it is a bare minimum start out with something like a blink program to blink an LED and go from there.

Tools I would recommend to get started are

• Arduino Uno
  • Breadboard
  • Wires for the breadboard
  • A handful of different colored LEDs
  • Resisters of varying amount. 1k-10k should work nice for starting out.
  • A servo motor
  • A DC motor