Completely new to Arduino, need some pointers

Hey!

I’ve only recently become aware of the limitless potential of Arduino and I really want to give it a go.

I have very little experience with electronics like this, I know the basics and can use a soldering iron well simply from obligatory lessons in secondary school, but the lessons never really explained why I was soldering what I was soldering, so I’d appreciate it if you didn’t go slinging jargon around without an explanation :stuck_out_tongue:

I play a lot of Garry’s Mod and use the Wiremod addon, it allows you to write expressions which you can use to control your contraptions. The expression function has recently been updated with a completely new syntax, which I’m having to learn now, and it seems very similar to the syntax of Arduino sketches (correct terminology?), so hopefully I’ll get my head around programming a lot quicker than I will with constructing :stuck_out_tongue:

I actually have a good idea of what I’d like to make - bare with me, this is probably too advanced for a beginner such as myself, but I’d like to be able to order everything I’ll need as soon as possible, that way I can get to it once I understand how to get to it. I’ll be getting the starter stuff too, of course, the Arduino board, probably a protoboard, transistors, leds, wires etc… if there’s any kits or modules that you’d recommend, please do!

at my school, we have to do this project about identifying and expressing ourselves, I don’t think that the board moderators would appreciate me putting to words what I think about it, but I figured that if I used Arduino I could

a) make something worth keeping
b) get into a new hobby
c) have fun! (unlike many of my classmates)