Computers do not seem to detect arduino

Hello everyone, I'm totally new to arduino, so please bear with this long post and excuse my mistakes. I think I did all i could with all the troubleshooting steps and reading some posts on the forums, but with no success.

I have an arduino uno as part of the official starter kit ("original" as far as i can tell). I have tried various ways on two computers, but it seems the board is not detected. One computer runs windows 7 enterprise (64bit) and the other runs windows 10 home (64bit).

First off, I tried to use the web editor on chrome on the win 7 computer. After installing the plugin, the web editor was able to launch (and icon on task bar appears in green/blue) but there was a message about a problem with the plugin and that sketches could not be uploaded. I tried to reinstall the plugin, with the same result. I then connected the arduino, and the green led lit up, with one yellow led blinking slowly, and in the editor window, the board name shows up, but with a red "x" alongside.

Next, I tried the same thing on chrome on the win 10 computer, with the same result (error message about plugin, red "x", lights on the board).

Next, I tried to install the full software on the win 7 computer. During the installation, there were prompts for driver installation, resulting in 4 or 5 drivers being installed. Following the instructions, I then connected the arduino, but there was no auto-prompt regarding drivers. I tried to manually install drivers by launching device manager (showing hidden devices) but saw nothing listed as "other device" or "port" or anything which i could recognise as the arduino. I then launched the program, and could see the arduino uno listed under "(tools)/boards" menu but the "port" menu item was greyed out, and no ports were listed.