Connect audio from a computer to the Arduino / input audio jack

Hi,

I am rather new to Arduino and electronics.

I want to make one of these cool LED music equalizers and I would like to use FFT on the Arduino. I am aware of MSGEQ7 which seems like an excellent solution but it has only 7 bins and I would like to have more. Also I intend to use a STM32 NUCLEO ARM board that will be hopefully powerful enough for the FFT. No, I do not want to do the FFT on the computer and send the result to the Arduino because this is OS dependent and uses computer resources.

The problem is that I do not know how to send the audio signal to the Arduino. I am afraid serial port won't be fast enough.

1. Would it be possible to simply feed the stereo headphone jack of my computer to the Arduino ? Just MONO.

2. There are some microphones for Arduino such as:

https://www.digikey.fr/product-detail/fr/sparkfun-electronics/BOB-12758/1568-1472-ND/6592307

Would it be possible to desolder the microphone from one of the above and solder the line-out of my computer instead of the microphone? This way I will benefit from the amplifier (opamp) and get the signal to the Arduino.

The problem is that I do not know how to send the audio signal to the Arduino. I am afraid serial port won't be fast enough.

Most people use analog.

1. Would it be possible to simply feed the stereo headphone jack of my computer to the Arduino ? Just MONO.

Yes, and unless your signal is mono you can digitally-sum the left & right channels. (Mixing is done by summation and analog mixers are built around summing amplifiers.)

2.) There are some microphones for Arduino such as:

Electret – amplificateur de Microphone Stable, module MAX9814, contrôle automatique du Gain, MAX4466 | AliExpress
https://www.digikey.fr/product-detail/fr/sparkfun-electronics/BOB-12758/1568-1472-ND/6592307