Continuity Tester (Pass or Fail outcome only)

Hi, I'm looking to produce a Continuity Tester using an Arduino Uno. I have searched within the forum but a lot of the projects and the questions are never finished off by the OP. It is to test 9 pin to 9 pin cable I produce, I only need a pass or fail, I do not need to know the reason for fail. I am new to Arduino's and code and any help would be greatly appreciated. From my reading I know it will be setting some pins to high and some to low but that's about it. Thanks

All you probably need to do is connect both ends of each wire (in turn) between Arduino GND and an Arduino I/O pin with s pullup resistor. Then digitalRead() will give LOW if the connection is good and HIGH if it is not.

...R

You can look at any of the pushbutton examples. Testing a cable for continuity is just the same as checking if a pushbutton is pressed. If you want to test all 9 of your wires, you can just use 9 digital inputs.

--Doug

G40PY: I'm looking to produce a Continuity Tester using an Arduino Uno. I have searched within the forum but a lot of the projects and the questions are never finished off by the OP. It is to test 9 pin to 9 pin cable I produce, I only need a pass or fail, I do not need to know the reason for fail.

For a full test suite of - 9 cable continuity test - 9 cable discontinuity test - 9 cable short circuit test you will need 18 pins of your Arduino board.

The Arduino UNO has 20 pins, and if you don't need Serial you could use Pin-0 and Pin-1 for a red or green LED to signal "good" or "bad". But there is no extra pin available then, so you will have no "start test" button and the test will have to run all the time, signalling "bad" (red LED) all the time while no cable is connected. But that's possibly no big advantage, as the test is fast and probably running at a rate of "more than 100 full cable tests within 1 second" (full test in less than 0.01s).